Past Meetings


  • April 18 – Joined by Merlin Ward of Wartega who talked about the various herb, spice and fruit beers they make, the brewery in Industry City and shared some delicious beer with us!
  • March 21 – Joined by Raphael Lyon from Enlightenment Wines who shared a variety of meads and spoke with us about his processes and facility in Bushwick.  Get over there and check it out!
  • February 21 – Joined by winners from Homebrew Alley XI, including Oskar Norlander who took second place in the European Sour Ale category with a mango lambic, Japheth Fitzpatrick who took second place in Fruit/Fruit & Spiced Mead category with a cyser, Phil Clarke, who took second place in Traditional, Spice, Herb or Vegetable and Specialty Mead with his butterbean blossom honey mead and second place in Alternative Fermentable & Specialty Beer with Honeylingus, and Bill Carley who took three first place ribbons in European Sour Ale, Strong Ale and Traditional, Spice, Herb or Vegetable and Specialty Mead with a gueze, barleywine and an orange blossom mead, who spoke about their winning beers and brewing processes and shared beverages with us.
  • January 17 – Introduced new officers: Jon Voris, President (who didn’t show up on his first day in charge!); Oskar Norlander, Vice President; Jon Pisiewski, Secretary; and Andie Davies, still reigning strong as Treasurer.  Dan Jansen, Brewmaster of Bluepoint Brewing Company, joined us and shared three beers from Bluepoint’s innovation lineup including Citrus Plunge IPA, an orange-infused IPA, Plum Oyster Quad, a Belgian style quad with local oyster shells and plums, and a Barrel Aged Imperial Stout with Sour Cherries.


  • December 18 –  Annual NYCHG Holiday Party at  Jimmy’s No. 43 – Club officers for the new year are announced: President, Ed Kurowski; Vice President, Zack Kinney; Secretary, Chris Pagnotta
  • February 21st – NYCHG member run meeting (winners of Homebrew Alley VI; brewing for competitions): Ed Goldberg, Keith Koval, Zack Kinney, Fritz Fernow, Oskar Norlander & Guild President Mary Izett (urban brewing: brew in a bag)
  • January 17th – Michael Kane of Kane Brewing Co.